Blue Bell’s Weblog

August 17, 2008

Safe In God’s Arms

Filed under: English, Renungan Harian — lydiairawati @ 3:05 am
Underneath are the everlasting arms.
Deuteronomy 33:27 NIV

Daily Bible Reading:
John 4:4-26, John 7:37-41, Exodus 17:1-7, Isaiah 35:1-7

During World War II, six-year old Jill Briscoe’s family was evacuated to the English Lake District. Recalling a particularly scary night, she writes, “A storm had broken over our heads. Rain, like giant tears, slashed against the window and thunder grumbled. I didn’t like storms, and I was old enough to understand that an even bigger storm was raging, a war involving the entire world. But it seemed far away. The fire was warm and my father was relaxed in his big chair. Suddenly, aware that I needed reassurance, he put down his paper and smiled, ‘Come here, little girl,’ he said in his quiet but commanding voice. And then I was safe in his arms, lying against his shoulder and feeling the beat of his heart.

“Looking back, I realise how my Heavenly Father shelters me from the storms of life. When sorrow swamped me at my mother’s funeral, I sought reassurance in my Father’s presence. When the winds of worry whipped away my confidence as I faced gangs of young people in street evangelism, I glanced up to see my Father’s face. When floods of fear rose as I waited in hospital for the results of frightening tests, I sensed my Heavenly Father say, ‘Come here, little girl.’ I climbed into His arms, leaned against His shoulder and murmured, ‘Ah, this is a grand place to be.'”

The Bible says, “The eternal God is your refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms” (Deuteronomy 33:27). If life’s storms are overwhelming you, climb up into your Heavenly Father’s arms, feel the beat of His heart, and rest assured He’s bigger than the storm you’re facing.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

